Nevada Faculty Alliance
 

Will you help position Nevada for success?

19 May 2011 2:46 PM | Anonymous
Editor's note: This message was originally sent to constituents by the Nevada State Assembly Speaker and Senate Majority Leader on Thursday, May 19.

As Nevada's budget crisis looms, we're working to bring people together to find a balanced approach that will position Nevada for success.

For too long we've struggled to fund our schools and the reforms we need to improve student achievement. We've suffered through cycles of boom-and-bust because our tax code is so narrow and its revenues so unpredictable. We've let our colleges and universities - the engine of our economy - falter even as more Nevadans seek job retraining in the tough economy.

Meanwhile, Governor Sandoval has failed to look for common ground. He's out of touch, and adopting his extreme position works against job creation and would sacrifice a generation of students. It's the Jim Gibbons approach all over again - and we know that won't work.

Our legislators need your help. We will only find a compromise approach to the budget if you raise your voice. Will you email or call these key legislators and tell them to make only strategic cuts and reform our tax code to make it stable and sustainable? Tell them we need reform, but we need a tax base that's stable enough to support it. That's how we end the boom-and-bust cycle and position Nevada for success.

Take action NOW. Email these key legislators and make your voice heard. Grassroots action will turn the tide, but it will only happen if you participate.

Thank you,

John Oceguera, Assembly Speaker
Steven Horsford, Nevada Senate Majority Leader

Legislative switchboard: 1-800-995-9080

Joe Hardy (R) jhardy@sen.state.nv.us
Mike McGinness (R) mmcginness@sen.state.nv.us
Dean Rhoads (R) drhoads@sen.state.nv.us
Ben Kieckhefer (R) bkieckhefer@sen.state.nv.us
Pat Hickey (R) phickey@asm.state.nv.us
Pete Goicoechea (R) pgoicoechea@asm.state.nv.us
Lynn Stewart (R) lstewart@asm.state.nv.us
Ira Hansen ihansen@asm.state.nv.us
Randy Kirner rkirner@asm.state.nv.us

© Nevada Faculty Alliance                                                                                                          Tel: 702-530-4NFA (4632)


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software